Government Leadership Award 2023

The GSMA’s Government Leadership Award recognizes world-class leadership in the establishment of sound regulatory policies for mobile connectivity.

Congratulations to the Government of IndiaWinner of the 2023 Government Leadership Award

The country we recognise in 2023 has a long list of achievements over the past year – including a highly successful 5G spectrum auction, the launch of a national portal for right-of-way approvals to streamline network deployment, and numerous programmes aimed at enhancing digital and financial inclusion.

Find out more about India's achievements.

Thank-you to our 2023 judges

  • Sulyna Abdullah, Special Advisor in the Executive Office of the ITU
  • Verena Weber, Head of the Communication Infrastructures and Services Policy Unit at the OECD
  • Marcus Adaktusson, Senior Vice President & Head of Public Affairs & Sustainability at Telenor Group
  • John Giusti, CRO, GSMA

Past winners

2023: The Government of India
2022: The Government of Spain
2021: Not awarded
2020: The Government of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
2019: The Finnish Government
2018: The Republic of Estonia
2017: The Islamic Republic of Pakistan
2016: The United Mexican States
2015: The Federative Republic of Brazil
2014: The Republic of Botswana
2013: Not awarded
2012: The Republic of Colombia
2011: The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
2010: The Republic of Kenya
2009: The French Republic
2008: The Arab Republic of Egypt
2007: The Republic of India
2006: The Islamic Republic of Pakistan
2005: The Federative Republic of Brazil

The Government Leadership Award is a category of the prestigious Global Mobile Awards (THE GLOMOs). Find out more about The GLOMOs.