Government Leadership Award

The GSMA’s Government Leadership Award recognises world-class leadership in the establishment of sound telecommunications regulatory policies, based on clear principles that encourage private investment, such as transparency, free and fair competition, and regulatory independence.


The deadline for entries is Wednesday 22nd November 2017. The award winner will be announced in February 2018 at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona, Spain.


Past Winners
2005: The Federal Government of Brazil
2006: The Government of Pakistan
2007: The Republic of India
2008: The Arab Republic of Egypt
2009: The Government of France
2010: The Republic of Kenya
2011: The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
2012: The Republic of Colombia
2013: not awarded
2014: The Republic of Botswana
2015: The Federative Republic of Brazil
2016: The Federal Government of the United Mexican States
2017: The Government of Pakistan


Entry is open to all national governments. There is no entry fee for this award category.


Selection criteria
Entries for the Government Leadership Award will be judged against the following criteria:

  • Development of a regulatory and policy framework that balances the government’s and mobile industry’s interests
  • Good practice in terms of government transparency, predictability, public consultation and regulatory independence that promotes innovation and long-term investment
  • Developing and promoting policy proposals that accelerate the digital economy
  • Policies that facilitate access to mobile broadband
  • Policies that embrace the role of mobile in achieving the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) 
  • Good management of spectrum, with a fee structure that encourages efficient usage and maximizes value to society

Category judges will include senior representatives from industry and academia.

Posted in: GLOMO Government Excellence Award

Download the official #MWC19 event app