Government Leadership Award

The GSMA’s Government Leadership Award recognises national governments that demonstrate world-class leadership in telecommunications regulatory policy and practice, fostering the true spirit of digitalisation in their national agenda.

The GSMA congratulates the Government of Saudi Arabia on winning the Government Leadership Award 2020.

The Award recognises the achievements of the Government of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in developing a regulatory and policy framework that is promoting innovation and long-term investment and accelerating the digital economy. Their application demonstrated excellent practice in terms of government transparency, predictability, public consultation and regulatory independence. The judges were also highly impressed by their adoption of policy proposals that embrace the role of mobile in achieving the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

About this Category

The GSMA’s Government Leadership Award recognises world-class leadership in the establishment of sound telecommunications regulatory policies, based on clear principles that encourage private investment, such as transparency, free and fair competition, and regulatory independence.

The 2020 winner will be announced at the GLOMO Award Ceremony on Tuesday 25 February at MWC Barcelona.

Past Winners
2019: The Republic of Finland
2018: The Republic of Estonia
2017: The Islamic Republic of Pakistan
2016: The United Mexican States
2015: The Federative Republic of Brazil
2014: The Republic of Botswana
2013: Not awarded
2012: The Republic of Colombia
2011: The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
2010: The Republic of Kenya
2009: The French Republic
2008: The Arab Republic of Egypt
2007: The Republic of India
2006: The Islamic Republic of Pakistan
2005: The Federative Republic of Brazil

Subscribe for MWC Updates