8.a Outstanding Contribution to the Mobile Industry

About this Award

The GSMA’s Outstanding Contribution to the Mobile Industry Award annually recognises outstanding achievement in the mobile industry. The award honours individual or organisational achievements for technology advancements that are shaping the mobile sector, as we know it today.

This discretionary award is a personal honour for the recipient who is chosen by the GSMA alone. The category is NOT open for entry.

Previous Winners

2018: Huawei
2017: For Inspirational Efforts in Support of Syrian Refugees – Joint Winners: Asiacell, Deutsche Telekom, Turkcell, Zain and Vodafone
2016: Aircel, Bharti Airtel, Idea Cellular, Tata Teleservices, Telenor and Vodafone – India
2015: Jamaludin Ibrahim, President & Group CEO, Axiata Group
2014: Dr Paul Jacobs, CEO & Chairman of Qualcomm Inc.
2013: KT and SK Telecom of South Korea
2011: Wang Jianzhou, Executive Chairman, China Mobile
2010: Carl-Henric Svanberg, Former CEO of Ericsson
2009: Jim Balsille & Mike Lazaridis, Co-CEOs of Research in Motion (RIM)
2008: Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder, Chairman and Group CEO of Bharti Enterprises
2007: Mohamed Ibrahim, Chairman, Celtel
2006: Jorma Ollila, Nokia Corporation
2005: The Brazilian Ministry of Communications
2004: Zhang LiGui, China Mobile
2003: Sir Christopher Gent, Vodafone Group
2002: NTTDoCoMo,Inc.

< See all Categories

Download the official #MWC19 event app